Hope That Went Up With The Fireworks

I remember her sadness and sorrow like it was my own. The tone in her voice that would crack at the edges and the way her breathing would slow down just at his mention. She would blank the world when he was around.
I remember standing there with my friend and she cried into my shoulder, the fireworks soaring above our heads and illuminating the black fog that lay thick. She felt the fog and smoke more than the fireworks.
She had an undying love for another one of my friends;in fact-best friend who is a boy.
I never wanted to tell her what he thought or knew because i never wanted to hurt her. But the longer I waited the more she hurt.
She was waiting for her chance. She was waiting for the day for him to confess his love for her like she would so often do to me for him.
I knew that he didn’t love her and I knew why; but I just didn’t want to say it because she would break like silence I I knew it. But I decided what was best for her forever strained heart.
So that night I stood with my group of friends as she cried gently into our shoulders and we gave her reassuring cuddles to comfort her.
“my hope went up with the fireworks” she uttered as the loud bangs roared overhead. I saw the tears pour out of her eyes like pools among mountain rocks-I saw her heart break and shatter like glass.
“up with the fireworks” I repeated in what seemed an emotionless tone, but yet had so much meaning behind the words.

I know my story telling skills lack but I just wanted to say the story ><
ENJOY!
20111114-001707.jpg

Leave a comment